1 August 2020 – Sports Prototype Cup roars into action at Brands Hatch

1 August 2020 – Sports Prototype Cup roars into action at Brands Hatch

1 August 2020 - Sports Prototype Cup roars into action at Brands Hatch

The first full season of the Sports Prototype Cup got underway on Saturday with a thrilling pair of 30-minute sprint races on the Brands Hatch Indy circuit that showed fans what to expect from this exciting new series.

REVOLUTION UK TROPHY: Kapadia and Mansell shine amongst packed grid

The field of 11 Revolution A-One prototypes put on an excellent show to demonstrate the potential of the 440 hp/tonne racer, and a number of famous faces and recognisable names provided a fascinating mix of driver backgrounds and styles.

Alex Kapadia (Mike Smith Motorsport with Breakell Racing), who has masses of experience in LMP2 and LMP3 machinery and a 24 Hours of Le Mans start to his name, claimed victory in the first race after a race-long battle with driver coach and Brands Hatch Indy lap record holder Scott Mansell (Excelr8 Motorsport), who then went on to take an impressive win in the afternoon’s second race.

Mansell started Race 1 from pole and led a tight lead battle for the first few laps, with Kapadia, his Mike Smith / Breakell teammate Morten Dons, and RAW Motorsports’ Bradley Ellis all following behind. Kapadia made a successful move on Mansell out of Druids on Lap 9, and thereafter went on to defend his lead while more action unfolded behind him.

After 39 laps of flat-out racing, Kapadia crossed the line just 0.419 seconds clear of Mansell, while Dons placed third, ensuring a double podium finish for the Mike Smith / Breakell crew.

One of the most impressive drives of the day came from Nigel Greensall, who started from the back of the field in both races, having not set any qualifying times, but charged through to finish fifth in Race 1. He crossed the line just behind Ellis, and ahead of James Abbott. Greensall’s performance was enough to win him the Sunoco Driver of the Weekend award.

Later in the day, Mansell started once again from pole, having set the two fastest lap times in the morning’s qualifying session, and went on to lead the entire race, but he was not without his challengers. Kapadia made a daring move into Paddock Hill Bend but only just lost out and couldn’t make it stick, and then three laps later, the Race 1 winner spun off into the gravel at the same part of the track, ending his chances of sweeping the event.

Dons then looked like Mansell’s primary challenger until the Danish LMP3 and GT regular later spun at Graham Hill Bend, dropping back to fourth. This allowed Ellis to move into the runner-up position, and the 2007 British GT champion significantly closed the gap to Mansell, finishing 0.796 seconds back. James Abbott completed the podium, followed by Dons and John Corbett, who also impressed throughout the event.

Kapadia’s day ended on a brighter note when he was awarded the B.R.M. Speed Award for setting the fastest lap of the event: a 46.311 in the opening race. He also posted the best lap in Race 2.


DRIVER RANKINGS: Revolution UK Trophy

1 Scott Mansell (1 win, 1 second)

2 Alex Kapadia (1 win)

3 Bradley Ellis (1 second, 1 fourth)

4 Morten Dons (1 third, 1 fourth)

5 James Abbott (1 third, 1 sixth)

6 Nigel Greensall (1 fifth, 1 sixth)

7 John Corbett (1 fifth)

8 Matt Brookes (2 sevenths)

9= Marcello Marateotto (1 eighth)

9= Adrian Reynard (1 eighth)

11= Dominik Dierkes

11= James Winslow

©2022 Abbott Automotive Ltd - Revolution Race Cars. Trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.